« Tramps Like Us: Heidelberg. | Main | People—Not Political Parties, Ideologies or Religions—Solve Problems. »

August 20, 2023

Caravaggio's madrigal on lost love exists in three originals

The Lute Player.jpg

Caravaggio, "The Lute Player", c. 1596, Wildenstein Collection, Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York. The Italian Baroque master (1571-1610) composed three versions of his madrigal on lost love. In addition to this one (Wildenstein), a second is in the Hermitage Museum, St. Petersburg, Russia, and a third — which did not come to light until 2007 — is in Badminton House, a large country house in Badminton, Gloucestershire, England.

Posted by JD Hull at August 20, 2023 08:43 PM


Post a comment

Remember Me?